Voter's Edge California Voter Guide
Get the facts before you vote.
Brought to you by
League of Women Voters of California Education Fund
KQED’s 2022 Voter Guide@KQEDnews
Tuesday November 3, 2020 — California General Election
Special District

Port San Luis Harbor DistrictCandidate for Commissioner

Photo of Robert S. Vessely

Robert S. Vessely

27,056 votes (21.86%)Winning
Use tab to activate the candidate button. Use "return" to select this candidate. You can access your list by navigating to 'My Choices'.
For more in-depth information on this candidate, follow the links for each tab in this section. For most screenreaders, you can hit Return or Enter to enter a tab and read the content within.
Candidate has provided information.
Thank candidate for sharing their information on Voter's Edge.

My Top 3 Priorities

  • To promote a sustainable harbor with a balance of commercial fishing & recreational uses.
  • To promote thoughtful planning of the renewal & future development of the Port.
  • To promote responsible use-of-force policies to be sure that choke holds & similar restraint techniques are never used by our Harbor Patrol Officers.



Profession:Incumbent, Civil Engineer
Engineer, Owner, Vessely Civil & Structural Engineering (1981–current)
Board Member, City of San Luis Obispo Building Code Board of Appeals — Appointed position (2000–current)
Commissioner, Port San Luis Harbor District — Elected position (2016–current)


Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo Master of Science in Engineering, various aspects of civil engineering particularly structural engineering & soils engineering (1995)
Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo Bachelor of Architecture, Architectural design & planning (1973)

Community Activities

Board Vice President, volunteer, Friends of the La Loma Adobe (2015–current)
Restoration director, volunteer, Point San Luis Lighthouse Keepers (1995–2005)

Who supports this candidate?

Featured Endorsements

  • Steve McGrath
  • John Fowler
  • Barbara George

Organizations (4)

  • Central Coast Labor Council
  • IBEW Local Union 639/SLO
  • San Luis Obispo County Democratic Party
  • Democrats of San Luis Obispo Club

Elected Officials (5)

  • Erica Stewart, Council Member, City of San Luis Obispo
  • Carlyn Christianson, Council Member, City of San Luis Obispo
  • Jeff Lee, Mayor of Grover Beach
  • Caren Russom, Mayor of Arroyo Grande
  • Bruce Gibson, Member of the County Board of Supervisors

Individuals (13)

  • Robert Campbell, MD
  • John Ashbaugh, former Council Member, City of San Luis Obispo
  • Brad Wilcox, Commercial Fisherman
  • Sherri Danoff, Planner
  • Ray Belknap
  • Susan Devine
  • Joe Barget, General Manager, Vandenberg Village CSD
  • June Kramer, MD
  • Anne Brown
  • Jim Patterson, former member of the County Board of Supervisors
  • Katchy Andrews
  • Chris & Claire Clark
  • BK Richard

Please share this site to help others research their voting choices.